Musician’s Log. Stardate August 10th 2010

No one’s around and I feel like talking so I thought I’d post yet another ramble here.

Wow, great couple of months. I really really enjoyed Lyric Lounge as I have stated in that frelling long post about it. Still just feeling so positive about it and I’m trying to write more and stop being so negative about my work, you know, now I try to write and then rewrite, rework, redraft, etc. The other day I was awake at 2am writing and, I know this is real dorky and shows how much I need to get a life… when I was too tired to keep my eyes open I curled up with Xena on (I had it on whilst I was working) and wrapped my notebooks in my arms because I wasn’t ready to stop feeling connected to what I was writing yet… I’m comfortable with admitting that.

So, I’ve been kind of frustrated with my guitar playing lately. I want to break out of the cycle of using the G chord in every frelling song. I think I can count on one hand the number of songs I’ve written that don’t have that chord in. One. ONE! I’m not saying which one, see if you can work it out. Ha.
I’m trying to do something “creative”. I think I set myself a standard, raised the bar, with the introductions or opening sections, whatever you wanna call them, of songs like Destructo Girl and Time. They are interesting and fun to play and I’d like to do more things like that rather than playing chords all the damn time. I always feel really aware of the fact that maybe my audience is really bored of the music. But then again I am really self-critical when I get down to it.
I do wish I was a better guitarist. I need to stop being so lazy in my approach to playing. Set myself a minimal amount of time I have to spend a week playing cause right now it’s “oh, I feel like playing, let’s play some Pat Benatar… now let’s play some tracks from the Buffy musical… oh, while I’m here I’ll play a song of my own.”
I don’t think it would hurt to maybe seek some lessons again. It’s been so long since I had them. Two years I think. I need to relearn scales and stuff, just to get me going.

Been in the mood for change lately. Been trying to write about it. Been trying to live it. I even did something new with my hair.

Friday morning I leave for Florida. I’m really looking forward to it, especially cause I’m hoping it’ll get my writing even more. And I’ll be reading a lot too when I’m not out terrorizing those poor unsuspecting people.

I think I mentioned in a post a few months ago that I’d like to make another video… hopefully better quality than the Night Terrors video, although I enjoyed doing the art for that. That’d be a great project to work on when I get home.

I’m really just talking here. Feeling a sense of time. Like this is the time to be doing things, making changes, going with my passions…

So updates:

– New lyrics that are in their first drafts.
– Working on the music.
– Demoing when I get home
– I added more links for me (Reverbnation, Tumblr, etc) and also more support links (Lyric Lounge and Word!) at the side of the home page

I feel like I’m forgetting something pretty huge…

Much love
*HUGS*

Leave a Reply

