Reflections

As Christmas day approaches I can’t help but think about the last year and all that’s happened. It’s turned out to be a great year and I’m happy to look back on the majority of it with smiles and a feeling of accomplishment.

I spent the first half of the year gigging and had the most amazing time. I really love performing, despite my terrible stage fright, and worked alot on my confidence and self-esteem. I even added Pat Benatar covers to my setlist! 🙂 I’ve been fortunate to be offered to play with two sets of artists that I love; D.J Blues Bar and Grace and the Magic Roots. Thank you guys! I even got to play at the Riverside Festival in the summer thanks to the wonderful Mike Harper. Thank you Mike for many gigs this year as well!

Girl and her Wolf got the attention of the Riese producers when it won a fan contest towards the start of the year and got me some attention for a little while. That was quite fun! I wear my Riese tshirt with pride knowing that the producers are fans of the song.

My two biggest achievements and defining moments of 2010 were graduating and getting  a job. My Mum was so proud of me when I graduated. My whole family was, but my Mum lit up when she saw me in my cap and gown. Both my parents have always pushed me to follow my dreams and encouraged me to study everything that would lead me to them. I love them both lots. And I got my first job; sound technician at Quad Studios! There’s not many people who can say that their first job was the job they’d wanted! I really lucked out here. I love my job. I’m continuing to learn and grow and expand my knowledge and capabilites and I’m fortunate to work in an environment that allows that. My boss respects me and listens to my opinion… mostly. I’m happy that I’ve been able to introduce a new recording technique to the studio. I’m really excited to know that I enter 2011 with a great job… and the hours are great!

I found a new love of volunteering and managed to work on some absolutely incredible projects this year. Lyric Lounge in both Leicester and Loughborough were great experiences and very inspirational. I learned a lot of new skills and built more confidence in myself to work hard and be myself. Through it I found WORD! and continue to find inspiration, and help with my work as well as getting to expand my sound tech experience. Through both I’ve learned to look at my writing in different ways and it’s helping become a better songwriter… and it really makes me happy. It also led me to new friends that have quickly filled my heart. I really am blessed to know these lovely people! They know who they are 😉

I got to spend two weeks in Florida with my family. I quickly overcame my fear of rollercoasters and became quite the junky, riding every rollercoaster I could get on – I think the total at the end was 12 different rollercoasters. I went on most more than once as well! I got to spend an afternoon with my favourite band Sci-Fried at their studio, hanging out and hearing stories, listening to the new album “Future Tense” as they recorded parts of it, having the SFC tour… it was really a surreal day and one of the greatest experiences of my life so far.

I got to meet Chibi and Rainbow from The Birthday Massacre (for a third time) when I took my boyfriend to see them for his 21st birthday. We celebrated our third year together too! We’ve had some lovely times together. I love him lots! Thank you baby for all that you’ve done and for your love.

Had some fantastic fun with my best friend. She’s always been a tower of strength and this year has seen our friendship tested but survive (she left me to work in Germany… then she came back. Yay! All is right with the world again!) We saw AFI together, had Rock Band parties, drank many bottles of wine, had way too many late nights gigglefests, spent a day at Stratford-Upon-Avon, shopped, cooked, laughed, cried… I love her lots. Thank you fruitloop for always being there!

I got four new tattoos throughout the year; “Innamorata” just after Christmas, a horse shoe and “Faith Manages” for my 20th birthday and a couple of weeks a go I got three coloured love hearts to celebrate having a paying job. That’s now 10 tattoos in total (so far haha)

Sadly, the year saw the passing of a dear family friend and I was able to pay tribute to her in a poem. It saddens me that she won’t be here for Christmas but I know we’ll all remember her as the kind and loving woman that she was and she’ll be in our hearts always. Rest in peace sweet C.

I wrote a whole new collection of songs and finally finished some I’d started as long as two years ago. Hoping that in time I’ll finally record and finish arrangements on them now that I have some money to work on creating a good home studio setup that allows me to express more creativity. Ooh, exciting!! Plug-ins and a new MIDI keyboard controller are on the horizon me thinks……. Eager to try out some new stuff! Lots of new lyrics written that mean I may be able to do something different for a while. Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh, so excited!

It’s amazing to think how different I feel now then I did at the start of the year. 12 months ago I was an unhappy unemployed student with dreams of being a musician/sound engineer just praying to whoever would listen that I’d finish my course, get my dissertation written, find a job that I could tolerate and make it through the rest of the year. It’s safe to say I did that! I’m so relieved and thankful that I managed to land on my feet. And I feel like I’ve found a balance. I get to do a job I love, continue to write songs and poems whenever I have the urge to and I still get to volunteer as often as I’m able to. And I’m still learning! It’s nice to know I’ve got a great set of family and friends that offer me such great opportunities, support and love. Thank you to each and everyone of you for helping to make 2010 a good year and I hope that I can return the favour to you in 2011.

Hoping 2011 is gonna bring more creativity, more projects and more fun and love. I have ideas for things I want to make happen… I’m gonna make 2011 another year to remember!
Merry Christmas to one and all and I hope your 2011 is nothing but bright and beautiful.
Much love
*HUGS*

Leave a Reply

